The Mid-American Conference has released a statement regarding a ruling which affected the outcome of Central Michigan's win over Oklahoma State today. Here is that statement:
“The Mid-American Conference officiating crew from Saturday afternoon’s Central Michigan at Oklahoma State contest made an error on the final play of regulation. The crew made a misapplication of the rule and should not have extended the contest with one final play. Despite the error, this will not change the outcome of the contest.” Bill Carollo, Coordinator of Football Officials, Collegiate Officiating Consortium
Rule 3, Section 2, Article 3.a.1
Periods, Time Factors & Substitutions
Exception: The period is not extended if the foul is by the team in possession and the statement of the penalty includes loss of down.
According to Rogers Redding, Secretary-Rules Editor, NCAA Football Rules Committee
“The NCAA playing rules do not allow extension of the period when the penalty includes loss of down, under Rule 3-2-3. Intentional grounding of a forward pass during a down in which time in the quarter expires is such a play, because loss of down is part of the penalty. Thus the quarter should not have been extended.”
(CLICK READ MORE TO CONTINUE . . . )
With 0:04 left in the fourth quarter, Oklahoma State held possession on a 4th and 13 play from the Central Michigan 41-yard line. Oklahoma State quarterback Mason Rudolph’s pass downfield was incomplete. An intentional grounding penalty was assessed and the ball was moved to the Central Michigan 49-yard line and Central Michigan was given possession with no time left in regulation. On the game’s final play, Central Michigan quarterback Cooper Rush completed a pass to Jesse Kroll for 42 yards, who then lateralled to Corey Willis, for the 9 yards and a touchdown for a 30-27 final.
“As in all games involving the Mid-American Conference, every play within every game is thoroughly reviewed and graded on its accuracy and has impact on the evaluation for every official,” said Bill Carollo.